Anti same-sex marriage?

http://www.women24.com/Content/LoveAndSex/Gay/2421/10c36dcb817b4c45ac44a7dacd7c7caf/09-11-2009-04-09/Anti_same-sex_marriage_

I am an old woman, raised in a certain way, it’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks, I cannot say that I completely understand or support unions between people of the same-sex, even though I have a nephew I adore who is that way inclined.

This doesn’t mean however that I despise gay people, want to see them burnt at the stake, run out of town thrown in prison, whatever nonsense some people spew. I truly believe this is against God’s teachings, and as I feel that way I will let God deal with them as he sees fit, if at all, just because I believe this doesn’t mean it’s going to happen, I am no saint I am sure I have not lived my nearly 70 years without sin. I do also believe judge not lest ye be judged, how can I throw the first stone when I myself am not sinless.

Who you choose to love and spend your life with is between you and your God, I have a friend, married for many years, I didn’t like her husband very much, I didn’t think he was suited to her, but did I have aright to ban her from marrying him, just because I didn’t agree with his lifestyle, or his politics, or the colour of his socks? South Africa is one of the few countries that allows same-sex marriage and I am proud of that fact, yes I can be proud of something and not believe it to be right at the same time, don’t ask me how but I can.

Before some of you more God-fearing, readers chime in, I do not however believe that a person’s sexual orientation is out of their hands, that they are born to be gay, I am not talking about transgender here I am talking about fully equiped males and females who are sexually attracted to other fully equiped males and females.

Sexual attraction is a choice, a decision you make, I do not for one moment believe that I was born with some gene that would only allow me to be sexually attracted to mildly good-looking doctors who would later go bald and grow a beard. I made a choice I decided this was the sort of person I was attracted to, just like some men like blondes, some like brunettes, some women like bald men others like tall dark and handsome and some men like men, that’s it, I really do believe it is as simple as that, some men and women are sexually attracted to the same-sex, it’s nothing to do with genes, or the way they developed in their mother’s wombs, it is a simple choice they make, they choose to be attracted to men or women, just as us “straight” people also choose to be attracted to men and women. Physically there is nothing different between a straight male and a gay male, they are the same person, each one has just made a decision as to what “turns him on” sexually, the same with straight men and women. Sometimes I feel we “straight” people have badgered ‘gay” people for so long that they have tried to come up with an excuse for their “gayness”. You do not need an excuse, this is your life to live it how you please, if you believe in God then you will have to meet your maker one day and explain, if you do not believe in God then you have nothing to worry about, maybe.

In short, I do not have a problem with gay people, I do not have a problem with them wanting to marry and constructing stable lives for themselves, I do however have a problem with gays claiming they have no choice they were “born” that way, because frankly I am sorry I do not believe it, I believe you acquired your sexual preference not that you were born with it, but I wish you all the best in your marriages/relationships and hope you managed to figure out the secret of successful longevity in relationships, us straight people seem to be losing that battle.

Leave a Reply

