Christmas tree.

I decorated the Christmas tree alone this year, it’s quite a preparation it takes me almost a week. I first have to get the decorations from their boxes and unwrap them all, as I use crystal figurines, each one is wrapped separately and stored in a small box. I also like to polish them before I hang them up, I wear cotton gloves while handling them, it’s quite a long process. Some of the ornaments are 175 years old.Ihave gradually been building up my collection over the years. lots of them are old crystals from broken chandeliers, some are worth 2000 Rand others only 2 or 3 but they are all special to me.                                                                                       

The tree this year is a 7 foot imitation Fraser fir, Hillary had brought to us from the Mother City. And our wonderful gardener stripped trimmed and set it in place in the front parlour.I decided to use white LED lights, strings of crystal beads and silver ribbon along with my figurines, I choose not to use tinsel this year. These are some of my favourite pieces.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on December 4, 2009 at 2:34 am

    It’s so beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

